Indian sub-continent –Sovereignty Return and Independent Republic Status

January 10, 2012

By Padmini Arhant

Independence struggle for India and Pakistan resumes in the twenty first century.

British Imperial subjugation of the Indian sub-continent prevalent until now as colonies with autonomy limited to self-governance.

However, sovereignty still maintained with monarchy rather than the respective republic in Dominion status assignment.

Transfer of Power – the treaty signed prior to presumed independence in 1947 amid clandestine meetings held among then Royal representatives including Viceroy and,

Imperialist selected meager representation for several millions at that time do not specify the Imperial role in defense strategy of the ceded territories set up as Dominions.

Furthermore, the axiomatic ambivalence in Transfer of Power against surrender rule and,

Dominion instead of independent sovereign republic declared in –

The Indian Independence Act 1947 – 10 & 11 Geo 6. CH. 30 –

“An Act to make provision for the setting up in India of two independent Dominions, to substitute other provisions for certain provisions of the Government of India Act, 1935, which apply outside those Dominions, and to provide for other matters consequential on or connected with the setting up of those Dominions. [18 July 1947.]

Be it enacted by the King’s most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Lords Spiritual and Temporal, and Commons, in this present Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:-

The new Dominions  –

1. -(I) As from the fifteenth day of August, nineteen hundred and forty seven, two independent Dominions shall be set up in India, to be known respectively as India and Pakistan.

(2) The said Dominions are hereafter in this Act referred to as “the new Dominions”, and the said fifteenth day of August is hereafter in this Act referred to as “ the appointed day”.

Territories of the new Dominions –

2. —(I) Subject to the provisions of subsections (3) and (4) of this section, the territories of India shall be territories under the sovereignty of His Majesty which, immediately before the appointed day, were included in British India except the territories which, under subsection (2) of this section, are to be the territories of Pakistan.”

The issue emphasize on two key elements pertaining to this Act –

Dominion by definition –

Source – Legal Dictionary – Merriam Webster – Thank you.

Main Entry: do·min·ion
Pronunciation: d&-‘min-y&n
Function: noun
1 a: supreme authority: SOVEREIGNTY b: a territory over which such authority is exercised c often cap:

A self-governing nation (as Canada) of the Commonwealth other than the United Kingdom that acknowledges the British monarch as the head of the state.

Encyclopedia – Encyclopedia Britannica – Thank you.


The status, prior to 1939, of each of the British Commonwealth countries of Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the Union of South AfricaEire, and Newfoundland.

Although there was no formal definition of dominion status,

A pronouncement by the Imperial Conference of 1926 described Great Britain and the dominions as “autonomous communities within the British Empire, equal in status, in no way subordinate one to another in any aspect of their domestic or external affairs, though united by a common allegiance to the Crown and freely associated as members of the British Commonwealth of Nations.”

The references – Dominion and sovereignty under His Majesty per

The British Empire treatyThe Indian Independence Act 1947 – raises poignant questions regarding paramountcy lapse.

Termination of His Majesty’s suzerainty over dominions and promulgation under Indian republic and vice versa for Pakistan would provide legitimacy as well as clarity on true emancipation.

Meanwhile, the status quo comparable to Hong Kong previously recognized as British colony under long-term lease and subsequent cession to China on July 1, 1997 formally ending British rule in that territory.

India and Pakistan assume autonomy on 99 year lease due to embedded technicalities implying feudalist authority in the official deeds – Transfer of Power Agreement and Indian Independence Act 1947.

These conditions are not inextricable and perhaps delineating the independent nature substituting dominion for sovereign republic befitting twenty first century paradigm would clearly define sovereignty free from external vested interest.

India – as the Indian sub-continent progenitor perceived an independent republic in national and worldview.

Contrary to the belief, the so-called largest democracy is yet to attain sovereignty under Indian republic.

Pakistan – British Raj quid pro quo through mutiny share the irony with India.

Under divide and rule imperialist strategy, India was partitioned creating mayhem with millions of lives lost in the demarcation.

Over two-century occupation that still continues in the region through proxy governments and colonial loyalists within society serving hegemonic agenda.

India and Pakistan notwithstanding former colonies across the globe identified as dominion remain members of commonwealth under British monarchy.

The extension of matter is related to Indian Citizenship Act explicitly denying mainstream population dual citizenship contradictory to foreign entities from Regality to those in position of authority granted privilege in holding multiple citizenships not barring unlimited access to India.

Such inherent anomalies lead to feudal empowerment at society’s marginalization.

It is time for India and Pakistan to rise to the occasion in reclaiming sovereignty under republic domain.

British Royalty acknowledgment accordingly relinquishing power and rights on territories stated as dominions in the official declarations would conform to nations meaningful and authentic liberation from foreign rule.

Expediting transformation in a peaceful and transparent manner would confirm sincere commitment to individual liberty.

Peace to all!

Thank you.

Padmini Arhant




Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.